Discovering Abitibi-West - Abitibi-Témiscamingue Tourism
Share

Discovering Abitibi-West

École du Rang II

This school welcomed children from 1937 to 1958. It is very representative of one-room schoolhouses in Quebec ...

More

Centre d'art Rotary

This art center promotes creative arts trades. This is where the barrier between creators and their public col...

More

Boutique de l'Atelier

"Boutique de l'Atelier" invites you to discover the works of artists Liliane Gagnon and Jacques Baril. A minia...

More

Collection Claude-Morin

The Collection Claude-Morin unveils the rural life of the pioneers of Abitibi-Ouest and displays a great cultu...

More

Magasin général D. Montreuil

Built in 1911, this general store is one of Abitibi’s oldest historic buildings. The man behind the business...

More

Église de Rapide-Danseur

This fieldstone church, Baroque in style, was built in 1942. The project was undertaken by parish priest Charl...

More

Troupe À Coeur ouvert

In the summer of 2020, La Troupe À Coeur ouvert will present a great musical review of the various shows it h...

More

Centre d'interprétation de la foresterie

Come and visit our interpretation centre, which houses a collection of yesteryear’s forest tools, and discov...

More

La Maison Turgeon

Behind the doors of this house, visitors discover Chazel’s former municipal office and history: daily school...

More
Discovering Abitibi-West

Photo credit : Jacques Baril

Boutique de l’Atelier

Boutique de l’Atelier invites you to discover the works of artists Liliane Gagnon and Jacques Baril. Gagnon is a miniature sculptor and painter and Baril is the author of monumental, metal and ephemeral sculptures that are part of the region’s cultural heritage.

556, Chemin de la Rivière Est, Gallichan
819 787-6078

 


Photo credit : Benoît Chalifour

Église de Rapide-Danseur

This baroque-style church was built in 1942 with fieldstones. In the basement, you may see an exhibition of paintings by artists of the region, as well as the antique collection of Mr. Édouard Miljours.

563, route du Village, Rapide-Danseur
819 948-2152

 


Centre d’art Rotary

Centre d’art Rotary presents several exhibitions by artists from here and elsewhere as well as scientific exhibitions. In the lobby, an outstanding quilt illustrates 75 years of local history. The shop offers a wide selection of gift items made by artists and artisans of the region.

195, rue Principale, La Sarre
819 333-2294

 


J’reviens chez nous (Troupe À Cœur ouvert)

1976. The story takes place at the Lauzon’s, in a mining village of Abitibi. An original creation not to be missed featuring music and songs by famous songwriters from Abitibi.

74, avenue du Chemin de Fer Est, La Sarre
1 866 891-6342

 


Centre d’interprétation de la foresterie

Come visit the premises of Centre d’interprétation de la foresterie, which features a collection of tools used for forestry decades ago. Discover the history of the region as told by its geography, forestry and archeology.

600, rue Principale La Sarre
819 333-3318

 


Photo courtesy

La Maison Turgeon

Discover Chazel’s former municipal office and history. Vestiges of the past, the farm buildings house animals and forest and agricultural equipment used in the period of colonization.

857, rang 10-1 Est, Chazel
819 333-7774

 


Photo courtesy

Café Elkoza

Café Elkoza proposes a warm and friendly atmosphere to discover the works of artists and artisans of the region while enjoying a specialty coffee or a delicious meal.

90, 1e rue Est, Macamic
819 782-2800

 


Photo credit : Hugo Lacroix

Collection Claude-Morin

The Collection Claude-Morin, it is 30 horse carriages dating back to the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century. There are also over three hundred artefacts linked to domestic life or the use of horses.

630, 2e-et-3e rang de Colombourg, Macamic (Colombourg)
819 782-4604

 


Photo credit : Estelle D. Cloutier

École du Rang II

This school welcomed children from 1937 to 1958. It is very representative of one-room schoolhouses in Quebec both in terms of physical environment and educational material. This live theatre presentation will allow you to experience a typical class day of the 1940s.

269, rang 2 (route 111), Authier
1 866 336-3289

 


Photo courtesy

Magasin général D. Montreuil

Built in 1911, the D. Montreuil General Store is one of the oldest historic buildings in Abitibi. The century-old, boomtown-style structure has been restored and moved to downtown Taschereau, so visitors can more easily appreciate this memorial to the town’s past.

52, rue Morin, Taschereau
819 796-2219

×